Dr Hardy Memorial Award

The Association’s Dr Hardie Award is in memory of Jim Hardie who, as head of the Potato Section at East Craigs (now SASA), was instrumental in introducing the stem cutting technique to early generation seed production to ensure healthy material for propagation. His commitment to high quality seed production and seed health encouraged growers to establish the Virus Tested Stem Cutting Association (now the PBGA) to maintain high standards of seed production.


The Award is made annually to an individual who, in the opinion of the PBGA committee, has made an especially significant contribution to the production of early generation high grade seed.

2009 Dr Mike Storey

2010 Colin Blackhall

2011 Sandra Goodfellow

2012 Sylvia Peterson

2013 Hamish Cameron

2014 Jamie Grant

2015 Graham Kerr

2016 Collin Jeffries